1.1 Analyse the requirements – Production Pitch

Location Recce

Broomfield Underpass:

I was thinking about using the underpass underneath the train station, however I imagine the British railways are very strict about who and what happens there. I decided to use the public underpass in Broomfield that goes under the Thanet Way. After looking at the two locations it turned out that the one in Broomfield is better for what I want anyway.

I will need a camera, a light and sound. I will need most of the equipment apart from the orange gel. The location is a tunnel and there will be a lot echo so I may need to re dub the sound, I will record it while we are there as well as reference if I need to re dub.

It is a public footpath so I am free to film their, however that means that there is the risk of other members of the public to walk through as well. I will need to film quite early in the morning so that it is quiet but will also need to have someone looking out for people so that we aren’t in the way if they come through.

The scene won’t be loud but there are no houses surrounding the location, so I won’t be disturbing anyone while being there. There is no vehicle access so there is no danger of a car coming down the tunnel, the scene also doesn’t require a car so that doesn’t affect the shoot.

The location is underground so there will be no wind and the sun won’t be visible however this means I need lighting to light the scene. There is no power supply there either so the light will need to be battery-powered. All of the equipment will be handheld so I don’t need to worry about a secure place for kit.

The location is very secluded so there will be no sound from the public or schools and there is no nearby airport so there will be no aircraft sounds. The only problem will be the echo so I will need to re dub the audio after.

Herne Bay Park:

herne bay park

(Tompson, 2006)

I emailed FilmOffice@kent.gov.uk about filming in Dane John, they replied saying I needed a permit which I can get by applying for one. However they need two weeks – three weeks before hand which is too much time to wait for a scene that is less than a minute long. So I have decided to film in Herne Bay Park instead.

I am going to film a scene of two characters running through the park away from the town, I will use different angles and shoot it multiple times so that it I can choose the angles that work the best together. I am going to make a story board showing what angles I will use.

I will need to take the camera, sound equipment and the lighting equipment to this shoot. Although I may not need to use the lighting depending on the weather.

This is also a public place so I need to shoot early in the morning so there are no distractions from people walking through. The scene involves no shouting so I won’t disturb any of the surrounding houses whilst filming. There is vehicle access so I will need someone watching out for them so the cast and crew can quickly get out-of-the-way for them to go past.

It will be shot outside but under trees, this means that the sun will light up the scene however it will be early in the morning so it may not be out at the time of shooting. All the equipment will be hand-held so I will not need to put any of it on the floor.

It is right behind a road so there may be cars but there is no dialogue so I will only be recording footsteps which I can easily re dup if I need to. There is a school down the road, I won’t be able to hear them from my location however they will walk through to get there so I need to time it so I’m finished before they start. The only thing the weather will affect is the lighting so I will take lighting with me.

Woods:

I am only going to film a short 30 second scene as more of an establishing here. It will be the couple walking through the forest and spot a campfire in the distance. The only problems would be I will have to film when its dark and that is also the only danger apart from trip hazards in the woods. There is no one living near the forest so we wont upset anyone by filming there is no dialogue so it we wont be load anyway. There is no vehicle access so there is no danger about that.

Back Garden:

I can’t use any lighting in the woods as there is no power supply so I will have to do the campfire scene in a back garden. The scene will be all three characters sitting around a campfire talking to each other.

I will need all my equipment as this is the majority of the short film. I will need the camera, the sound equipment, the lighting equipment and an orange gel to add an orange light to act as the flames.

This will be either my own back garden or a families back garden so I will have free will to film there. There is no public access so no disturbances to the shoot.

There is no vehicle access which slightly affects the scene but I can work around this and edited to fit the story. There will be neighbours next door and this scene will be shot at night. I will need to be as quiet as possible which can work as there is only dialogue in this scene and it includes no shouting.

There will be no sun as the scene will be shot at night but there may be wind, the garden is well protected by fences so the mic shouldn’t pick up to much noise. There is a power supply which is the reason I am shooting here, that does add the risk of cables but I will make sure they are pushed to the side where no one is walking.

There is a road just behind the fence so there may be cars or people going passed which I cannot control and will have to work around. There are no airports or schools nearby so there will be no sounds that will ruin the shoot.

 

Risk Assessment

Fire is a big hazard during the campfire scene as its going to be in the woods. This will be a hazard to the actors as they are sitting around it. A way I can significantly reduce this is by using a recyclable BBQ instead. I can surround it with rocks to make it look like a campfire and will have about 10 minutes of flames before the coal catches. I will also have water close by so I can put the fire out if I need to.

The scene is going to be set at night. This is a hazard for everyone but especially the crew as they got expensive equipment. I can reduce the risk of this by shooting at dusk when it isn’t pitch black and people can see. I will bring torches so we can see where we are going once we have finished shooting.

We need to be careful of the public whilst filming as they could knock over our equipment or trip over it. We need someone watching out for people the whole time so they can warn us and we can get out-of-the-way.

There will be scenes done in the woods so we need to be careful and watch what’s on the ground so that no one falls over anything. There needs to be safe places to put the equipment so that there is no risk of them falling over as well.

There will also be scenes of people running so we will need to be careful the actors don’t trip while they are running.

 

Proposal:

Short film about an apocalyptic scenario where most of the big cities have become cannibals. A couple are walking towards a city when they are told to run the opposite way and get out of here because someone is coming. They then run into the forest and meet a man at a campfire who invites them to take a seat. They talk about the cities and a rumour about the cannibals and turns out the man they met is one of them.

Act 1: Meeting a Stranger: Roughly 3-5 minutes long, where the couple meet the strange man who tells them to run.

Act 2: Running: Roughly 2-3 long of the couple running away from city and then walking through the forest and they see a campfire in the distance.

Act 3: Campfire: The characters meet another strange man at a campfire, he invites them to sit down and they talk about the cities and life before. It turns out the stranger they met is a cannibal.

PROJECT PROPOSAL

Synopsis:

Short film about an apocalyptic scenario where most of the big cities have become cannibals. A couple are walking towards a city when they are told to run the opposite way and get out of here because someone is coming. They then run into the forest and meet a man at a campfire who invites them to take a seat. They talk about the cities and a rumour about the cannibals and turns out the man they met is not who he seems.

 

Treatment:

It takes place in an apocalypse where overpopulation is a huge problem, this has caused a mass starvation as the food production can’t keep up with the amount of people now in the world there was also a global EMP which destroyed all electronic devices that made it almost impossible to keep the food production going so most of the major city’s have turned against each other and become cannibals.

Two people are walking through a tunnel towards the city when a man that’s out of breath and wearing a Hawaiian shirt, he tells them that someone is coming and that they need to leave. They then run away from the city and into the forest where the meet a man at a campfire, The man invites them to sit down and offers them something to eat. They all talk about rumors of a cannibal with an axe who wanders then the man offers them a drink to wash down the food. He walks to his car and opens the boot which reveals the same Hawaiian shirt as the guy at the start with a small amount of blood on it, he then moves that to the side revealing an axe, also with blood on it. Then final he moves the axe and picks up the drink and shouts to the other two that he’s got it.

 

Script

FMP SCRIPT

 

Budget

I wont need a big budget as all i will need is outfits and because of the scenario they will be wearing everyday clothes that are slightly worn out as they are wearing them for long periods of time.

 

Production Schedule

21/5/16 I will be at the Broomfield underpass filming Act 1.

22/5/16 I will be filming at Herne Bay park doing Act 2, I will also be filming at Thornden woods doing the last scene of Act 3 and the rest of Act 2.

23/5/16 I will be filming in my back garden and doing Act 3 around the campfire. This may run into 24/5/16 as I need to film when it is reasonably dark so only have a little while to film until it gets to dark.

 

Roles

For my project I will need the crew to fill the roles. I will be the director and on the camera, I need someone to be on lighting during the campfire scene there will be an orange gel on the light to add the effect of the campfires light. I need someone else on sound, they will need to hold the boom pole with the shotgun microphone on it. I also need 3 actors to play all the characters.

 

Skills

The skills needed for my project are quite simple, whoever is on lighting will have to slightly flicker the light while the gel is on so it creates the look of a flickering campfire and this will only be needed for the last scenes where the characters are around a campfire..
The person on sound will have to move the microphone between the actors as they speak to focus on the character and pick up as little from around them as possible, they will need to know the script and know when to move the microphone.
The actors will need to remember the script however there will be varies different angles and cuts so they will only need to remember sections at a time.

 

Equipment

The equipment I need for my project are a camera, boom pole and shotgun microphone, LED light and an orange gel. I need a DSLR camera as I need the option to darken the scene using the camera so we are not filming in the middle of the night.

It needs to be a shotgun microphone so it can focus on the actors speaking and only pickup that specific sound, and it will need to be on a boom pole so it can pickup voices without being in shot.

It needs to be a light that has the ability t be dimmed as that’s how I will achieve the campfire effect. I will slightly flicker it whilst the orange gel is on and it will look as if it’s the campfire.

 

Health and Safety

Health and safety is important for this project as it involves fire. The risk of fire is quite high as we will be shooting in the woods so a way to reduce this hazard is to use a contained fire where it isn’t in any contact with the floor such as a recyclable BBQ. I will also have easy access water close to hand so that if there is any problems i can put it out quickly.

The scene will also be in the dark so that is also dangerous. I am going to film at dusk as it will still be dark but not dangerous and i can change some setting on the camera to achieve a night look. I will bring torches as once we are done filming it will be dark so we will have to carefully get back to the car.

We will have to be careful of the public and make sure they know we are there so they done walk into us or knock over any of our equipment. We also need to make sure that we don’t knock any of our own equipment over whilst there.

The environment will be a wooded area so we will need to make sure there is no tripping hazard where we are filming and that the equipment is firmly on the ground.

There will be a scene where people are running, we will need to be careful when shooting that scene.

 

Target Audience

My target audience would be a range of ages however mostly people between the ages of 15 – 45 as the film involves adult themes which appeal to the majority of people in this age group and not so much people older or younger than that. It would appeal to people with similar interests as the film such as, apocalyptic scenarios, horror/thriller genre.

 

Legal Requirements

I will need to look into where I can have BBQ’s as that’s what I’m using for the fire. I also need to double-check if I can film there but its a public place so I should be able to.

I emailed FilmOffice@kent.gov.uk about filming in Dane John, they replied saying I needed a permit which I can get by applying for one. However they need two weeks – three weeks before hand which is too much time to wait for a scene that is less than a minute long. So I have decided to film in Herne Bay Park instead.

emails to filmoffice

Style/Form/Genre/Aesthetics

I want the style to be realistic, It wont be completely realistic as the scenario it is set in a scenario that has never happened however I want it to be serious and be the same as if something like this did really happen.

The form is  video production. I am planning to create a short film and am going to have a finished product at the end.

The genre of my short film will be thriller/horror. It has horror themes however there will be no danger in any of the scenes just hints of it.

The aesthetic of this short film will be dark. The camp fire is a crucial part of the story and wouldn’t have the same effect if it was the middle of the day.

 

Budget

I wont need a big budget as all I will need is outfits and because of the scenario they will be wearing everyday clothes that are slightly worn out as they are wearing them for long periods of time. So i will only need 30 pounds minimum.

 

Equipment Check list

Audio:  

  • Zoom
  • Shotgun Microphone
  • Boom Pole

Visuals:

  • Canon 550D

Lighting:

  • LED Light
  • Orange Gel

 

Working with Clients

The most important thing when working with clients is that they are always right. You have to listen to what they say and produce what they want as its their vision, you can try to persuade them against it but overall its their idea.

You have to be professional such as not disagree with their ideas, they are paying you to create their vision and you have to respect that and respect them.

You need a lot of skills when working with clients, you need technical skills so you know how to do what ever it is their asking of you.
You also need communication skills to fully understand what they are asking and to be able to if need be, persuade them to slightly change their idea while making them think it was all their ideas.
You need time management so you get it done when they ask, they shouldn’t be waiting for it after the deadline.
You need to have diplomatic skills, you need to be able to say your opinions but understand that it’s ultimately the clients decision whether they accept it.

The type of Person to hire me to create this would be a Director but more of a low-key one as this is a short film. They will need to be interested in the genre and ideas of the project as well as it’s a very wide genre.

 

Bibliography 

Tompson, B. (2006) Herne bay (Kent). Available at: http://mapio.net/o/4053057/ (Accessed: 27 June 2016).

 

Reflection

There was a lot of things I had to find out about my locations before I could start filming, which led to me changing my location from Dane Court to somewhere else as I needed a filming permit. I found out all the different equipment I need and how I will achieve the effect I need out of them.

1.1 Analyse the requirements – Production Pitch

One thought on “1.1 Analyse the requirements – Production Pitch

  1. Feedback by Jenni Blackman – Week 4 1.1. 15.5.16
    Declan, this is a good post, but a few things are missing. Have a check against your tick list. I am sure you have done them and they just need to be published. The work you have produced is to a merit standard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

